Inauguration of the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong on December 5, 2015 [fr]

After years of preparation, the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong (ASHK) will be inaugurated on December 5, 2015 from 5 pm to 7 pm at the Government House in presence of the Chief Executive of HKSAR, Hon C Y Leung, the Vice Chairman of the National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference and Minister of Science and Technology, Prof Wan Gang and the President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Prof Bai Chunli.


The objective of the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong is to promote the development and advancement of science and technology in Hong Kong, and to raise the city’s profile as a center of scientific excellence.

The Academy already brings together international prominent scientists. Note that there are two famous French scientists among the 27 founding members: Professor Jean-Marie Lehn (Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1987, professor at the University of Strasbourg) and Professor Philippe Ciarlet (Member of the French Academy of Sciences, professor at the City University of Hong Kong).

In the wake of the Academy’s inauguration, , the First Science and Technology Innovation Summit will be hold on December 6, 2015 at the Hong Kong Science and Technology Park from 9:30 am to 3:00 pm in Shatin to create a positive momentum to promote science and technology development in Hong Kong.

Well known guests and scientists, including the ASHK founding members, Prof Dennis Lo, Prof Malik Peiris and Prof Ching W Tang, will share their experience and research findings.

Professor Jean Pierre Bourguignon, a famous French mathematician and President of the " European Research Council " and Professor Jean Salençon, former President of the French Academy of Sciences, will be among the speakers.

For more informations, visit the ASHK website :here

publié le 20/12/2016

top of the page